Home > Barcelona, Transfers, Valencia > David Villa completes Barcelona transfer

David Villa completes Barcelona transfer

Villa is presented at the Camp Nou

David Villa today completed his transfer to Barcelona after passing a medical at the Camp Nou.

The striker joins the Catalan club on a four-year contract after they agreed a €40m (£34.2m) deal with debt-ridden Valencia.

Villa, 28, is the club’s first signing this summer, with Arsenal captain Cesc Fábregas also tipped to make a return to the club at which he started his career.

During his presentation to the fans and media, Villa described the move as “one of the happiest moments” of his life.

“It is an honour and I am proud of this very important move,” he told Barcelona’s website. “I have to thank so many people for this transfer to Barca. My family, Barca, Valencia and everyone that made it become a reality. I am very proud and will give everything to this club.”

Villa scored 107 goals in 166 league games for Valencia, but he wouldn’t set a goalscoring target for his first season at the Camp Nou, insisting that his primary objective is to help his new club acquire more silverware.

“I am here to score goals that will help the club to win things and to contribute what I can to the team,” Villa explained. “I have not won many trophies in my career, two Copa del Reys and one Super Cup, although I cannot complain and am proud of those. But I come here with a desire to win even more and, if possible, the Champions League.”

Villa is expected to play on the left of Barcelona’s front 3 alongside Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Lionel Messi, and the Spanish international was quick to praise his new team-mates, and in particular, Leo Messi.

“I am conscious that I am joining the best team in the world and that they have won everything,” he said. “I want to help them become a little better. Messi is the best player I have ever seen and I will be proud to share a dressing room with him and to wear the same shirt.”

Barca have the option of extending Villa’s contract by an extra 12-months, and his release clause stands at €200m (£173.8m). He will wear the number seven shirt.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

