Home > Real Madrid > Pellegrini slams ‘lack of respect’

Pellegrini slams ‘lack of respect’

Manuel PellegriniAfter his widely-expected sacking yesterday, ex-Real Madrid manager Manuel Pellegrini has hit out at his former club.

Pellegrini was afforded just one season as head coach of Real Madrid, and today he blamed a lack of support and respect from the club as the reason for his departure.

He told Spanish radio station Cadena Ser: “I came here with high hopes and great pride to manage this team. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to do what I wanted to do and I had differences from the beginning of the season.

“There were a lot of disagreements in the club. I asked them to keep Sneijder and Robben, who were two very important players for me. I missed having a debate on supporting issues, with the coach included.

“As [ex-Real Madrid coach] Vicente Del Bosque said, even the club show no respect for the position of the coach, and they don’t give them the authority internally or externally.

The Chilean also attacked president Florentino Pérez’ project, stating that it “is extraordinary but I think he’s got it wrong.

“I haven’t spoken to Pérez since August. I respect the stance of the president. He has a sporting project in which I don’t fit.”

He also sarcastically suggested that if the club had listened to him and allowed him the freedom to mould the club the way he saw fit, they might have had more success.

“Who knows, if the team played with wingers maybe we would have won 19 games in the Bernabeu and scored 120 goals.”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

